BREAKING: Magoon Wins Race for USG Presidency


Leighton Magoon, FCLC’17, has won the campaign for USG President. (Tyler Martins/The Observer)


In what was a competitive student government election, Leighton Magoon, Fordham College at Lincoln Center (FCLC)’17, has won the race for United Student Government (USG) President, according to the USG Elections Committee, on Thursday, April 9.

“I am more than excited to take the helm of USG President for the upcoming academic year,” Magoon said. “I look forward to furthering all of the great progress USG has made the past two years and further growing our membership of both FCLC and GSBLC students.”

Magoon defeated his opponent Jacob Azrilyant, Vice President of Operations of USG and FCLC ’16. “I wish Leighton the best of luck as USG President, and thank him for a positive campaign run,” Azrilyant said. “The train does not stop here, and I’ll still be involved in making Fordham a better place. Thank you to everyone!”

In the other contested race in the Executive Board, Rory Hanrahan, FCLC ’18, has won the position of Secretary, defeating Alex Seyad, FCLC ’18.

Polls opened on Wednesday, April 8 and closed Thursday, April 9. Magoon has served as Treasurer of USG and Student Activies Budget Committee (SABC) Chair for the past academic year, and belongs to the Dorothy Day Center for Social Justice (DDCSJ) as Social Justice Leader (SJL).

Here is the upcoming Executive and Senate for USG 2015/2016:
President: Leighton Magoon, FCLC ’17
Vice President of Operations: Amanda Ritchie, FCLC ’16
Treasurer: Abraham “Alec” Padron, GSBLC ’18
Secretary: Rory Hanrahan, FCLC ’18

Sophomore Senator for FCLC: Matt McCarthy, FCLC ’18, Eliza Putnam, FCLC ’18
Sophomore Senator for GSBLC: Dominic Umbro, GSBLC ’18